When You Left [written 20Feb13]

I am my Momma's heart!

I am my Momma’s heart!

Dedicated to Samson “Chuey” Ravencraft

When you left, it was so sudden. I never saw it coming; otherwise, I would’ve looked the other way.

When you left, you took part of my heart. A part, I’m afraid, I can never regain.

When you left, I grieved so much that the physical pain was too much to bear. Then I remembered, you were given to me in my weakest moment. You made we strong, you made me have to fight, you made me. An angel sent from Heaven in the form of a 1 lb. 6 oz Chihuahua.

When I started to fall, you looked me eye to eye with all the understanding of a human and made me stand tall.

It took you 11 years and 8 months to teach me one lesson – I am strong.

I will cry for you, but I am strong.

I will grieve for you, but I am strong.

I will want to give up, but I am strong.

I will try to give up, but I will see those eyes and know I am strong.

I will lose sleep over you, but I am strong.

I will remember your eyes, your bark, your playfulness and I will remember, you were strong.

You carried me until your death. Your soul was willing to continue with the load, but your body wasn’t able.

You were loyal even in death. You were strong, yet you did not fight. You went back from whence you came with all the strength God gave you.

I know, without a doubt, God gave you to me. I know, without a doubt, God took you from me.  I know, without a doubt, God will allow us to be reunited.  And I know, without a doubt, that will be the happiest day of my life!!!!!!!!!

I know I love you with every breath I take.  I know I love you with every beat of my heart.  I know I love you more than life itself and would’ve gladly traded places that fateful Thursday, if I had only been given the chance.

One thing is certain, death. One thing is promised, we will be together again, in Heaven!

One thought on “When You Left [written 20Feb13]

  1. Heart-wrenching – the loss of a pet is so intense. I feel for you. Your words are so close to how I have felt many times. Chuey’s photo made me laugh – a character so vibrant it shouts out of the image. It takes a very long time to ease the pain of loss but as you said, they make you strong and offer support to the next pet that takes your heart.

Leave a Reply

