9 weeks later and…I’m baaack!

On 27 Feb, I had a C5, C6 fusion.  The pain in my neck had become so bad that I was unable to do anything, no yoga, no running, no holding my niece, nothing, but eat, work, sleep (and not much of the sleeping!), thus the decision to have the fusion. My doc originally told me I could go back to yoga after 2 weeks, but I was unable to do it.  During my 3 week post-op visit, he told me to try again, so I did.  Needless to say, it has taken me 7 weeks post-surgery to do one of the things I love, yoga.

Having said the above, as I entered The Yoga Room, after work yesterday evening, I felt at home.  My yoga instructor, Tammy Brahan, and I talked for a few minutes about the fusion, where I was still having pain and she said to just take it easy and do what I could do.  I was just so happy to be back, I could’ve laid in savasana the entire class, smile.  As it turned out, my need for neck and shoulder attention became the theme for class and Tammy worked us over, gingerly of course, honestly, she did, this time, grin.  The two things I remember so poignantly was when we went from sphinx to cobra, my cobra asana was probably the best I’d done since the accident.  I was up, and the body was proud!  The second thing I remember was during savasana, as I laid there with my eyes closed, I could literally see purple waves washing over me.  If you read my post, you know savasana isn’t so quiet for me, but last night, all I could see was purple waves and feel my body thanking me for giving it the release it needed.  Now, we are on the road to healing again.  With the help of God and yoga, I have no doubt, the healing process will not be too long.  I just have to remain diligent, be careful and remember to be in the pose, breath through it, and come out if I need, but to get right back in it as my body, my soul, needs it.

I would like to give thanks to my family – my momma, daddy and little sister, as they have taken the best care of me while I’ve been on this journey; my co-workers – as they have had to tow my line while I was out of the office for 6 weeks; my friends for calling and coming by to check on me; Therapeutic Kneads – Manny, for helping get the blood flow started back in my arm to help my nerve heal (I haven’t forgotten to come back I just haven’t made time for me, smile); to Tammy – as she works through her busy schedule and life’s little curves, she still has time to stop and talk to me; and most importantly, to Jesus for pulling me through the surgery, as I am feeling better every week.

I’m blessed beyond measure and have the scar to prove it….

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

