Breathe. Be.

Utthan Pristhasana (Lizard Pose).  We had two new yogis in class last night and when Tammy started, I was like, yeah, this is going to be an easy class. WRONG! What was I thinking?!

I’m learning that Tammy is compassionate, but when it comes to yoga poses, beginner or advanced, she ‘pushes you off the cliff’ and you fly.  It’s that easy….  I managed to sweat almost as much as if we hadn’t had the two new people.  Then she said “we are all going to do Utthan Pristhasana, lizard pose”.  I looked up like she had lost her mind ’cause I know lizards and I know how they walk and stretch.  I knew we were in for a challenging pose.

I was right!  Now see the pose in the picture?  Now, put your right hand on your right thigh, rotate your torso to the right.  Now, put your hand on your hip and get deep into the stretch, then raise your right hand toward the sky and lead with your heart.  Hmmm, my right leg, at the crease, was hurting so badly that I could barely move out of the pose once it was over.

I know, I overlooked my own rule, no pain, just to the edge….

I just knew I’d be so sore in my groin this morning, but nope.  My legs feel good!  And to that note, Tammy is so good!  Laugh.

I think those who enter a yoga studio are walking to the edge and giving the instructor permission to push them off the edge to allow them to fly because they (the student) don’t have the nerve to do it themselves.

Yoga requires one to stand on the edge, breathe, be present, and then push off that edge.

Flight is freedom!  Flight is joy!  Flight is the chance to see what is below you, behind you and what lies ahead.

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

