Serenity Yoga

Last night’s yoga class was very ‘relaxing, calming, and yet motivating”. Here lately, when I’m on the mat, I feel long, lean, and beautiful, then I walk to the car and realize, it’s just the mat’s effect on me.  Laugh.  There’s nothing about me that is long, lean and beautiful.  I accept that, I’m just not one of those people.

I was fighting an aching neck, back and a headache, neither of which would go away until the very end, in savasana. I did feel my back give so the backache left almost immediately after the first few poses, but the rest, held on.

Finding my edge and holding on was very hard.  My concentration wasn’t there. I was on the mat physically, but I wasn’t present on the mat spiritually.

I woke up during the night with the right side of my neck just killing me.  I know it’s nothing we did in yoga, as none of the poses were new to me, so I’m not sure what the deal was.  Spent the rest of the night on ice, and hurting.

I used my breathe to try and calm the muscles, and I suppose the breathing helped me fall back to sleep, but when I would wake up, the neck pain was still there.

I’m slowly learning that in order for this yoga journey to be productive, I have to be ‘present’ on the mat, not just going through the motions.  I can not heal physically, nor spiritually if I don’t find that presence and keep it in the yoga practice with me!

Namaste!

Leave a Reply

